Annual Membership Meeting Awards

Date: October 11, 2016

The Greater Williamsburg Chamber & Tourism Alliance saluted outstanding members of the business community and recognized the organization’s outgoing chair and new leadership during its Annual Membership Meeting, held Thursday, September 22, at the Williamsburg Community Building. The Alliance annually pays tribute to distinguished members with awards.  Honorees this year were:

Roll of the Drum Award:  Michael C. Rock, in recognition of his outstanding service on behalf of both the community and the Alliance

Ambassador of the Year: Cathy Waltrip, Owner, CAW Marketing Services
Cathy Waltrip

Membership Star of the Year:  Michael C. Rock, Owner, Michael C. Rock Agency/Nationwide Insurance
Mike Rock

The morning was the final Alliance event presided over by outgoing Chair Leigh Houghland.  Houghland formally passed the leadership gavel to incoming 2016-2017 Chair Kevin Jones, President of Kings Creek Plantation.  In accepting the gavel, Jones recognized the other officers of the Alliance for the upcoming year:

Vice Chair: Jeanne Zeidler, President & CEO, Williamsburg Health Foundation
Vice Chair:  Adam Steely, Co-owner, Blue Talon Bistro
Treasurer: Ron A. Campana, Jr., Campana Waltz Commercial Real Estate, LLC
Immediate Past Chair: Leigh Houghland, SVP, Regional Commercial Loan Officer, Chesapeake Bank
Ron Campana, Jr. and Jeanne Zeidler

The meeting concluded with recognizing retiring Board Director Robin Carson.

And joining the Board this year includes:

Amy Walker Gilliam, LTD Hospitality
Brian Fuller, York County Parks & Recreation
Chris Smith, Virginia Beer Company
Dr. James Horn, Jamestown Rediscovery - Historic Jamestowne
Pastor Mark Morrow, Crosswalk Community Church
Douglas Pons, City of Williamsburg, assuming the seat held by Scott Foster, Vice Mayor

2016 Board of Directors